Interchangeable ‘House of Harlow’ inspired necklace

Hey all,

As promised this is my DIY ‘Starburst’ necklace, inspired by House of Harlow.

There are so many variants to this particular item: some have two pendants on the chain, some are different sizes and some are different colours. The thing I like most about this piece is its flexibility. What I mean by that is you can wear the different colours and it will change your look completely; or the two pendant item can be worn in several different ways making it a very adaptable piece of jewellery.

With this is mind I decided to put my own twist on my DIY version. I made each pendant interchangeable so you can take it on and off the chain whenever you want, making it versatile and a neat way to change your jewellery.

It’s easy to do so take a look at how I did it šŸ™‚

You will need…

Image

– Material: leather and gold fabric,

– chain,

– scissors ,

– glue,

– cork (not pictured).

To start I simply traced round aĀ circular object onto the reverse of the leather.

Image

Do it on the reverse so you don’t get pencil or pen on the face of the pendant.

Next I did the same to the gold fabric, only I made the circle slightly bigger than the leather one (just to give myself some extra room for mistakes and gluing later on).

The next stage is to make the ‘starburst’ effect. I tried lots of different ways of doing this but this is the one that I found easiest; however this is just personal preference so if you feel like you can do it an easier way then do it way šŸ™‚

Image

I halved the circle with a ruler, then roughly drew two semi-circles in the centre (the space in the middle of these semi-circles is where you want to draw the zig-zags, if you do it right to the edge of theĀ circumferenceĀ then it won’t fit onto the leather circle).

Again I did it roughly because I had done a few attempts before but you can be more precise of course.

I then folded in half down the centre line and cut out the centre (including the zig-zags, obviously).

Image

I glued them together to make the face of my pendant. Pretty!

The fabric is quite flimsy at this point so this is where you need to cut out some cork mat (I used thin cork mat I got from Ebay for Ā£1).

Easy to do: just draw round the pendant onto the cork and cut it out, then glue the cork to the back! Simple!

OK, the next bit was a bit tricky. I didn’t really know what I was going to use to make it attach to the chain, so I made it up a bit.

Here’s what I did:

you will need a few more things…

Image

I used an ID clip holder and some glue dots.

Image

I cut the clip off: I initially wanted the metal bit but this didn’t work when I attached it to my pendant, so I went with the plastic bit that attaches the clip to the wallet!

I simply used the glue dot to stick the plastic bit to my pendant. The plastic bit has a popper on it, so if you wanted you could fashion something similar with an actual popper and material.

Image

Now my pendant is complete! However I decided that because the leather I used was so light and the gold was quite shiny that they didn’t really stand out from each other. I remedied this by colouring in the gold with a Sharpie.

Image

The gold is textured and the Sharpie only coloured the raised bits which resulted in a really nice effect.

ImageThe end results are actually really good. Here’s it is with another pendant I made so you can see the interchangeable idea.

A few tips:

–Ā super-glueĀ the glue dot to the pendant as you’ll be pulling the plastic popper apart to change it,

– try out different ways to fix the pendant to the chain,

– experiment! This idea worked because I played around with ideas and found what worked best for me, that’s not to say this is what will work best for you šŸ™‚

Hope you give this a go it’s a really neat way to have a House of Harlow inspired piece for next to no cost!

Cheers xx

Leave a Reply

